Before starting, let us explain which drop down we’re talking about. Visit your Instagram profile on the app from your friend’s account. Now, notice a downward arrow button to the right of the Follow/Following and message button. The drop-down is shown on your Instagram profile when someone visits it. It shows similar accounts to yours to anyone who visits your profile and taps on the drop-down icon. Similar Account Suggestions is an Instagram feature that gives you suggestions to follow other similar accounts based on the Instagram profile you followed. It is, of course, useful as it makes sure that you follow users that are relevant to your profile or interests. Moreover, you can get additional followers and reach as it suggests your profile on other users’ profiles. However, if you don’t want your account to be suggested on anyone else’s Instagram profile then you can do it. This will also remove account suggestions for other users on your profile. Here’s how. Also Read: How To React Or Like A Reaction On Instagram Story

Turn Off Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile

Note: Before proceeding, please note that, if you turn off a Similar Account Suggestions option on your account then your account will also not appear as a suggestion on others’ Instagram profile.

1 Turn Off Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile1.1 How Does Instagram Suggest Similar Accounts?2 Conclusion

Similar to blocking access to third apps on Instagram turning off suggested users for the Instagram profile can be done only from the Instagram website on desktop and not from the mobile app. 5. Click on Submit to save the changes in Settings. With this, the suggested arrow is removed from your Instagram profile. Now, users can’t get to know similar accounts to yours and your account won’t be suggested on others profile.

How Does Instagram Suggest Similar Accounts?

Have you ever wondered how actually does Instagram Suggest Similar Accounts on your profile? To understand this you will have to understand Instagram’s suggestion algorithm. There are a set of rules which determine similar account suggestions on Instagram. An account will be suggested on your profile as a similar account if:-

You have liked similar posts or have followed similar accounts on Instagram.You have linked your Facebook account on Instagram, then it suggests your Facebook friends as similar suggestions.Your Instagram searches are similar.Your profile is similar to someone in terms of hashtags.you have given your contacts access to Instagram. Then by scanning their database, they suggest your contacts (who have an Instagram account) as a similar account on your profile.

So, these are some rules that Instagram keeps in mind before it suggests similar accounts. Also Read: What Is Your Instagram User ID?

Conclusion

We hope all your queries about Instagram suggestions are solved with this article. Now you can turn off Instagram similar account suggestions if you don’t want to show similar accounts on your profile to anyone who visits it. Also, you can stop your account from being suggested to others. If you have other problems with Instagram, like not being able to post photos, check our blog for more tutorials. If you face any trouble then you can let us know in the comments below. It is not working, I unchecked the box and it is still showing up…. Anyway to fix this? Thanks! Sam I am having problems with the latest version of Instagram on my iPhone and was looking for articles on your site to see whether there would be anything helpful. I used to have the older version and wish now I had not updated to the newer one because I find it very difficult to work with it. The main problem is that when people like or comment on my posts, I used always to see these individually in a list. Now, as soon as I click on someone’s profile who liked my post or commented in order to reciprocate or reply, the list immediately disappears instead of staying as it used to in the older version of Instagram. When this list jumbles up, it shows up as Seen and New under YOU. Instagram must think I am a computer because there is NO WAY I can see and remember all the people who have seen my posts in one short glance. Anyway, the only way I have then to go to and these new likes and comments is to go through all my posts – usually the most recent – and try to see which likes are most recent in order to like their posts back. On top of this, the new likes are not shown in chronological order under individual posts, so I cannot even remember who has just liked my posts and which were older. This is driving me crazy as it is taking too much time. In the past, the list used to be static and new likes were added above. I was speaking to another Instagrammer and he does not have this problem with one of his accounts but DOES have this problem with a smaller Instagram account. However, he did not know how to help me. Can you help please? I would be happy to contribute something towards your time and efforts if the cost wasn’t prohibitive. I think I would prefer to downgrade Instagram on my phone but cannot find a way to do so. Otherwise, I’d really appreciate it if help can be had for sorting this main problem out. Other things I do not like are Suggestions. How do I get rid of these? If I want to look for something, I would prefer to look for that something on my own. Thanks. Janz I hope this helps you. Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment. Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail.

Δ

How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 79How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 47How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 47How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 9How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 67How To Disable Similar Account Suggestions On Instagram Profile   TechUntold - 10